Could you open your home and heart for a short time to help these children in need?

If you think you can offer help and hope to a child in need then speak to our carer team on 1800 663 441.

Alternately you can fill out our online enquiry form or attend an information session to find out more.

Brothers Xander and Kyle

Xander and Kyle

Barnardos are seeking a permanent home for 2 brothers aged 6 and 5 years.

Xander, aged 6, is thoughtful and caring with an infectious grin. He enjoys taking care of animals, riding his bike and playing board games. He is quietly spoken, loves to help with chores and responds well to routine and predictability in his environment.

Kyle, aged 5, is friendly, outgoing and willing to give everything a go. He loves to play board games and really likes to win. He also enjoys puzzles, games on the iPad, Lego and riding his bike, especially now that he doesn’t need training wheels. Kyle is kind and helpful to other children; if there aren’t enough bikes for everyone Kyle will give his up so others can have a turn.

Xander and Kyle require a family who can provide them with love, stability, kindness, understanding and consistency.

* Please note: Names changed and models used to protect privacy



Michael, ten years

Michael is an energetic 10-year-old boy, of medium build and olive complexion. Michael has a great sense of humour once he feels comfortable with you and although he doesn’t like being the center of attention or fussed over he loves to feel loved.

Although Michael is not currently big on sports he loves nothing more than to play with his Pokémon, Nintendo DS and Xbox.

Michael needs a carer family who understand trauma. He needs lots of love and support to help him feel safe. Michael requires a family where he would be the only child in the household.  Michael loves animals.

A carer family for Michael would be able to provide a consistent routine, strong boundaries and the capacity to take him to his appointments with his Paediatrician and Psychologist. Michael needs adults who can stay calm and help him manage his emotions.

Michael would thrive in the care of a 2-parent household with pets and lots of space for him to explore and take time out when needed.

* Please note: Names changed and models used to protect privacy



James is a lively 10-year-old boy who has a great imagination and loves playing “Power Rangers” and other make believe games. James enjoys spending time at the pool, making new friends at the park and playing on the equipment and seeing movies.

James needs a carer family who understand trauma and why he often gets angry. He needs lots of supervision and attention to help him feel safe. James requires a family where he would be the only child in the household.

A carer family for James would be able to provide a consistent routine, strong boundaries and the capacity to take James to his appointments with his paediatrician and psychologist. James needs adults who can stay calm and friendly with him as he struggles to manage his emotions. James can become frustrated and hit out at people, swear, shout and cause damage to things, because he cannot control himself when the anger comes.

Eric has settled into his new home


UPDATE: Barnardos has identified a placement option for Eric, and he is settled into his new home. We would like to thank everyone who contacted Barnardos regarding Eric and expressed an interest in undertaking a caring role for him.

Eric is a 10-year-old boy of average build, slightly smaller for his age with light brown hair, light complexion and blue eyes. Eric is very sporty but finds it hard to play games with his peers. He is very competitive and doesn’t like to lose. Eric gets frustrated and bored quite easily.

Eric is a delightful, funny, very active boy, who can be extremely affectionate and endearing. At the same time, he can exhibit oppositional and aggressive behaviour. He has little awareness of his own physical safety and can display a high need to control his environment. Past behaviours include running away and little concept of stranger danger.

Eric attends regular therapy to address his behaviour and sensory needs.


Katie has found a permanent family!


Katie, a gentle and caring 7 year old girl had experienced a lot of upheaval in her short life and needed a patient, supportive foster family to help her manage her epilepsy.

UPDATE! Katie has now transitioned to her permanent family in South West Sydney. She has settled in and enjoys spending time dancing, singing and jumping on the trampoline. Playing the flute is a new activity Katie enjoys along with tennis. Her carers are committed to meeting her needs and providing a safe and secure home.

* Please note: Names changed and models used to protect privacy.